WSDA Announces New Hemp Production Rules

On Thursday, the Washington state Department of Agriculture announced it has finalized the regulatory plan for hemp production.  Along with the plan WSDA established new license fees, application requirement, THC testing and sampling protocols.  Here are the updated from the WSDA:


New application requirements


Based on federal regulations, all applications must be accompanied by a criminal history report that is completed no more than 60 days prior to the date the application is submitted to WSDA. Applicants are also required to report hemp crop acreage to the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA).


THC concentration


WSDA will continue to test hemp using High-Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC) and calculate the total THC concentration in the material on a dry weight basis, which is required by the USDA.


Hemp sampling


WSDA will move from sampling 30 days before harvest to sampling 15 days before harvest as required by USDA. This may require WSDA to contract with more labs in the coming year or hire more seasonal staff to handle the increased workload and avoid delays for producers.  Based on USDA requirements, WSDA will transition from a whole plant sampling procedure to taking a cutting from just underneath flowering material located at the top one-third of the plant.


Application window


Currently, WSDA issues licenses year round, each with a different expiration date. Under the new rules, all applications must be submitted between January 1 and March 31. All licenses will expire April 30 following the year the license is issued. Applications submitted after March 31 will be subject to a late fee of $200.

The new application window will allow WSDA to better allocate resources throughout the year and to plan proactively for harvest, ensuring seasonal staff are trained and ready.


License fees


WSDA will combine the application and license fee to a single, $750 license fee. Beginning June 1, 2020, that fee will increase to $1,200 with the intent of covering all program expenses as required by the 2018 Farm Bill and USDA regulations. The license fee was based on current data, but if more licenses are issued than anticipated, WSDA will reevaluate the fees to bring revenue in line with the program’s expenses.



USDA is currently accepting comments to their interim rules and WSDA would adjust its rules and procedures if the USDA changes their rules.  Email WSDA with any questions or concerns about WSDA’s new hemp program rules.




If you have a story idea for the Washington Ag Network, call (509) 547-1618, or e-mail [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *