Because Of Drying Conditions, Several Oregon Counties Eligible For Emergency Loans

On Wednesday, Ag Secretary Sonny Perdue designated three Oregon counties, Grant, Harney and Lake, as primary natural disaster areas. That means producers in those three counties who suffered losses due to recent drought, may be eligible for FSA emergency loans.

In addition, contiguous Oregon counties of Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Klamath, Malheur, Morrow, Umatilla, Union, and Wheeler, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is March 2nd. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.  Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available on the USDA’s Website.

If you have a story idea for the Washington Ag Network, call (509) 547-1618, or e-mail [email protected]

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *